Health Promotion Forum


The power of films and virtual reality for health promotion and education - Panel discussion in synergy with the

Moderator: Gilles Reboux, HAFF leader in WHO Department of Communication who will share more about the specific goal of WHO's film festival as a global contribution to health promotion and education, and Lorena Bernal from HAFF team with the participation of Sharon Stone as one of the jurors for the 3rd Health for All Film Festival, WHO Academy, Universities of The Netherlands and Canada and a winner of WHO's film festival


  • Dr Rüdiger Krech, WHO Director for Health Promotion, former juror of the Health for All Film Festival (HAFF).
  • Anita Abada, Producer from Nigeria, winner of our HAFF special prize for health education film in 2021. Anita has created in Nigeria a sensitization program using her short film "Efun" within schools and communities where Female Genital Mutilation is still prevalent. Her team educates the community on FGM and its impact on young girls and women.
  • Joyce Browne from the Netherlands, representative of the Dutch Global Health Film Festival and Utrecht University/UMC Utrecht. She has experience with Dutch students on the usage of our HAFF winning films as health education tools.
  • David Chandross, representing WHO Academy, Serious Game Design Lead and Senior Scholar at Ryerson University of Canada, to speak about courses using interactive Virtual Reality creations and gaming narration as teaching tools for students in the health sector.

The session focuses on how health educational films based on fiction, documentary, virtual reality or animation styles can contribute to a better well-being of populations? As well as a better equity in their access to health care and health information? Whether those films target directly the wide public or are made for health workers and other leaders/advisers in health. This panel discussion will be based on winning films of the Health for All Film Festival (HAFF) and teaching methodology in preparation for the WHO Academy.